The Town of Veazie was founded by General Samuel Veazie and incorporated on March 26, 1853. By this time in history, the towns along the Penobscot River had achieved prosperity exploiting the State's vast lumber resources that were cut and floated down the river to mill in and around Bangor. By the 20th century, the Town of Veazie and its environs began to shed much of its lumber past and a more modern economy emerged.
The Town has since attempted to balance residential and commercial development. Manufacturers and wholesalers take advantage of Veazie's proximity to local markets with operations in local industrial and commercial sites. At the same time, Veazie has become a bedroom community where residents take advantage of the Town's beauty and convenient location. It borders the City of Bangor to the south and the Town of Orono to the north. Bangor is the area's largest city and the site of an international airport and the region's major health care facility, Eastern Maine Medical Center. The University of Maine's largest campus is located in Orono and boasts such major attractions as the Alfond Arena, home of the Black Bear sports teams and the Maine Center for the Arts.
Click on the photo above to download The History of Veazie Maine by Jean Hamilton. Please be patient, the file is 12MB Acrobat PDF file and will take some time to download.